Weekend // Contrasts

Yesterday I cried in a random KTM train station in the face of difficulty.  

Today I can laugh in the face of the love of my Father.

Let me rewind a bit. I love to embrace the weekend, and yesterday I was excited for a packed day of celebrations, good food and lovely people. First stop was a birthday brunch in Bu9 round the corner. Delicious. Easy. Next stop was a pool party in Kajang for the late afternoon.

On paper it looks easy, and I thought ‘Yes time for an adventure!’ Perhaps I was a bit ambitious.  Kajang is a bit further out than I have travelled alone before, but I knew you could take public transport. It would take an hour max.

3 hours involving one taxi, one lRT then one train journey later, I arrived at the station I needed.  After 3 cancelled taxis with one on the way to take me to my final destination, my phone decided it was the perfect time to completely die. I had no idea where I was and I had no idea what to do. Even if I had a working phone who would I even call?

Fortunately I had my charger, so I resorted to going back into the station and (fighting back tears) I asked the attendant to help me. I have never felt so vulnerable in Malaysia as I did at that moment.

Looking back, it was the loss of control that got to me. I am proud to be an independent woman- able to deal with most situations, and I love being able to do so without asking for help. On the other hand, I also do ‘damsel in distress’ extremely well. Friends have told me so. But it depends on the situation. At this point at this remote station I couldn’t even reach out due to lack of technology and language barriers.

 

Today is a different story. Just reaching HopeCity church and getting back into the family groove re-aligned my thinking and my priorities. Giving to the ‘first fruits’ offering gave a new perspective that is bigger than my small problem of  getting stuck in a station. Seeing what is above eye level.

You’re probably reading this thinking,’Big deal Becca!’, but it taught me some important lessons.

In the words of the one and only Ying Ying Tan; you don’t need a man, you need the MRT. She is not wrong. Also that it’s ok to be vulnerable. I’m definitely still learning how to balance between ‘strong independent woman’ and ‘damsel in distress’. Thank you Malaysia for always pushing me and teaching me.

 

On a happy note, my weekend ended like this (like it started):

14438789_10154981059681840_686737213_o

Monday we’re nearly ready for you!

Leave a Reply

